JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone. I might pull the trigger tonight on some lights. I'm looking at KC Apollo's but my question has more to do with the beam type. I've done some research but since I may buy today, I thought I would seek some advice.

My thought is to get some 5" lights for windshield mount units and once I choose my bumper, then pick a pair of 6" lights to mount on that. Whether my new bumper has holes available for the factory fogs or not will dictate what type I buy for the bumper but at the very least, I will have one set fog lights.

My JK is white so hood glare is a concern but there really isn't another mounting location that I like as much as the windshield brackets. Would driving lights present more of a glare problem than long range?

I've seen the beam pattern comparison charts but I have NO real world experience. I would just go for the long range and be done but I'm not doing any high speed offroading and I don't know if the beam would be so focused that it would be less useful for me than a set of driving lights? And conversely, I don't know if driving lights would generate a lot more hood glare than long range light, which would be very counter-productive.

I live near Pittsburgh so it's all woods and tight trails. Not too many 300 yd straight stretches where I would need to see waaay out in front of me.

Any advice?

· Registered
3,092 Posts
Hood glare will mainly depend on the type of light you put up there and and how you have them aimed. I have Dually Floods on my A-pillar and don't get a lot of glare mostly due to how I have them aimed.

Not sure if you're on a budget or not, but these lights put a stupid amount of light. KMD Garage 4" HID

My buddy has the HIDx version of these lights on his Raptor and they're pretty darn nice.

· Registered
374 Posts
You want long range lights. I have KC Slim lights and they are great. I have no issues with glare

· Registered