JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at jkowners. Ive been a fan of JK. I am getting
one sometime soon this summer. I ve coming to realize that alot of members on this forum has the
2007 JK. It made me wonder should if I
buy the new one that is 2011 or get the used one 2007 for the better price. which year is best to buy. also shld i just buy the sports or the rubi one? thanks for the help.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
one more thing. whats different between rubi and the sports ?
i know the rubi and sports one has the different gear ratio front and rear. will it be cheaper if i upgrade from sports one.

·
Registered
561 Posts
Rubicons have locking differentials, electrical disconnected swaybars, and off-road tires from the factory.

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
There really isn't much difference in years.

07 didn't have the TPMS and I believe the way to shut off the ESP is different. 11 got new interiors.

That's about it.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Here's my opinion, and we all know what opinions are like..

The 2007:
You will be buying someone eleses problems and possible neglagence. However, you should be able to save enough coin to start making it "your own" straight away.

The 2011:
Obviously new, making you not have any major worries for a while, including any bigger maintanence items. You'll know the complete history of the vehicle. At a higher price tag, you may not have the $$ to do major work as quickly as you would like to. Major work could potentially void any warranty that you would get.

Sport vs. Rubi:
If you know what you're doing, heck even if you don't, but you have a vision up slapping on lots of cool parts (i.e. new axles, lift, etc.) ask yourself what is going to be left on a Rubicon that you will have paid a higher price tag for?