JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
659 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Serious question.

We’ve had a trip planned for a few months now.

Windrock, last weekend this month.
Plan on leaving home Thursday AM. Traveling Thur/Fri. wheeling Sat/Sunday.

We were planning on some tourist type stuff both trip up, and on the way home. (Texas btw). Obviously most of that is “off”but...

Windrock is still open, and they are currently saying they won’t close.
Our Hotels are currently saying it’s business as usual w/precautions.

I’m 95% leaning on making the trip w/slight modifications.

I know there’s risk involved but there’s risks regardless.

I’m a 911 paramedic in Harris co. Texas (Houston)
I’m aware of what’s going on, wife and I are healthy, we’re not going to make anybody sick.
The risk is to ourselves not us to anyone else.

Wheeling seems like an activity that we can keep our “social distance” fairly easily.

Would you make the trip?
If not, why?

I sure hate to waste my vacation days sitting on the couch.

I’m not asking for you to tell me what to do, I’m asking your opinion.

·
Premium Member
4,087 Posts
That's a tough one.

One one hand, I'd think sitting at home and letting the .gov's two week stay-cation do it's thing would be the best route.

One the other hand just about all the beer virus is in New York, Cali and Washington.....................and most of those folks think anything they do is vital and fuck everyone else. So what the rest of the country does is a moot point.

On the third hand, I'll say "Let your conscious be your guide".

·
Registered
4,525 Posts
I have been thinking about Moab or Sand Hollow. Moab is basically shut down, can't even camp but have not seen anything from Sand Hollow website says its open. I don't have a problem with going wheeling but what I really think about is leaving my home if the shit hits the fan. Thieves and looters are my big worry.

·
Registered
659 Posts
Discussion Starter #4