JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ya another welder question. First some back round. I'm a pipe fitter by trade so welding isn't a problem. I could be welding pipe from 2''- 12'', flat stock to I-beams. All done by 6010 & 7018. But I haven't mig welded in years.
What I would like to do is make some tube doors,add a truss in the future, and some control arm skid, and fab up some skid plats. These are the ones I was looking at.

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200304603_200304603

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200332691_200332691

also I keep hearing good things about the Hobart 140.Is there that much of a differance from my second choice?

Thanks for the help.

· Registered
13,219 Posts
I'd certainly go with the MIG. Though I run the $170 220v/170a Harbor Freight welder..

· Premium Member
658 Posts
I would strongly push for a 220v mig. I have welded a Hobart 130amp side by side with a 180 amp, and the 130 struggles to get decent penetration on 3/16". You need to figure that on your Jeep, you will be welding up to 1/4" thick, and as thin as sheet metal(let's just say 1/16"). This is difficult with stick, but a Mig with a gas kit will do great for you. Also, on some of the off brand welders, pay attention to the duty cycle and the actual max amp output, and compare these numbers to a Lincoln or Miller of the same size.

· Registered
3,222 Posts
It looks like you are trying to really stay budget minded. I'm sure you have a lot more welding experience than I do (My $0.02 worth 00000)but I do have a small fab shop and I teach welding at a Jr. College. I have run the HTP and own the Longevity brand. I personally like Lincoln Welders in the field (SA200)! My school uses all Miller so I'm familiar with most.

My needs are for a budget friendly but higher use welder. I will purchase a HTP 2400 or Longevity 250 but folks have a range of projects.
Might I suggest: (230v)