JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Canon G9, it is a 12 Meg RAW that takes great pics but I feel I am still missing something. It is small so I always have it but I am considering a wide angle lens or a whole new camera so I can get better shots. I am a novice to this, so all help would be appreciated. If I should start w a SLR I can do this but I think I have a good camera. It could be that I just need to practice more but I would love some opinions.
Thank You

·
Banned
3,216 Posts
There are deffinetly many good cameras out there. Really though I thin once it gets down to it, it will really come down to preferance and your shooting type/style.

To be honest, the camera you have now is a good one. I would really recomend sticking it out with that one and learning it inside and out. Once you do, you will clearly know what it dosn't do that you wish it could and what features you use most. From that point you will be able to make a definitive educated desicion on an upgrade.

I have seen a lot of people go through many cameras waiting for oone that just takes "those" great shots you see online. So much more of it is how you work with what you got, lol....:beer: its not the size that counts, its how you use it, lol

·
Banned
3,216 Posts
a good example would be the pic you posted above. Not trying to sound negative in anyway, just an example.

There are some things you could adjust on your camera to make that pic "pop" a little more but the key thing is composition. Took me a long time to realize that. We tend to try to take a picture of the whole scence, to try and not chop anything out. The key though is just picking out something in the picture as the focus. Using angles also makes it more interesting.

·
Registered
1,136 Posts