JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Super Moderator
6,177 Posts

the spindle, upright portal design as it lies ( w/ the badass , proprietary
front diff/transfer case combo
) together in the plane of that gullwing shaped lower CA reminds me of how the F4-U Corsair warbird lower wings allowed for prop room & landing gear strength back in ww2.

that truck is otherworldly amazing.

·
Registered
8,294 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I bet within the next 5 years or so they'll get rid of the jungle gym of tube and you'll start seeing CF tubs being used.
That would very interesting to see. Hypercars and high dollar race cars today do that with a monocoque which has proven more than strong enough to keep the occupant safe but Im not sure that material is designed to handle the stresses of an offroad race. In this kind of application, the structure would be constantly getting opposing twisting motions slowly stressing the CF. Im not a expert on this so I am not saying its impossible just difficult for sure.

I think with the level of spending, next up is titanium jungle gyms. The really high dollar drag cars are doing that now I believe so cant see why it wont apply here.

·
Premium Member
4,089 Posts
I think they are already there with tub designs. The loads on F1 cars and LeMans prototypes from aero and cornering are incredible. The engines, wings and suspension pick up points all attach to the tub.

Now, they're not bouncing off immovable objects all the time like the trucks are.

It is great to see the highend tech make it's way into the TT world. They've been definitely behind the times for years.

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
$700k, that's it? Sign me up for 7. Give me one for each day of the week.

I bet you Unlimited guys would ask if it came in a 4-door. :thefinger:

·
Random Dude
3,042 Posts

They're holding out until CF sippy cup holders are available for the 2nd row passengers :laughing:

·
Premium Member
4,089 Posts