JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had many different satelite radio receivers, and both providers. So I have some experience and know what normally to expect.

I am having it cut out at some odd places, and not always the same ones. For example on this one street, I go under a 8 lane highway, no cut out, then under a train track, no cut out. A mile later, clear sky, maybe some trees on the side, and it cuts out and acts like a dirty CD jumping a bit. Are there any know issues around this, or situations that can cause this I am possibly not aware of?

·
Super Moderator
15,337 Posts
Satelite is great on the open road...going hundreds of miles and not having it cut out, but in daily "around town" travels, Ive grown tired of having these same issues. When the trees are thick overhead, when next to tall buildings, under the overpasses, at the gas station, underneath awnings, etc...when the free year is up... I sure as sh*t wont renew my subscription. Too much dinero for such weak performance.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That is what I was looking for, see no other receiver I have had does this. I suspect it is either the tuner or antanae that is the issue. Been thinking of hitting the www.siriusbuzz.com site and ask some questions. If a new antanae will resolve it, might be worth it for me. It shouldn't work like that even in town.

·
Super Moderator
15,337 Posts
BTW...There is also a TSB relating to similar problem. This might be the culprit of the sat radio problems that ErylFlynn is experiencing.

TSB #08-008-08 Issued 3-06-08..."sound mutes intermittently when (Sirius) radio is in sat mode"

...don't know if this helps, but you might take it in and flash that SOB...

·
Registered
271 Posts