JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Forgive me im new to the JK's, but for 35's what is the ideal gear ratio for
2011 4spd auto unlimited and 35's? id like to keep highway/road manners/gas 'mileage' as good as i can. This leads me to another question...

Do we have any tire recommendations for 90% road 10% trail. It needs to be great in snow/rain and wear very well.
I was thinking like toyo open country, goodyear duratracs, super swamper m16big horns etc. mostly seeing highway miles and lightweight, but not something id have to be afraid to get muddy either. loudness doesnt matter at all to me.

id like to change out my rims but am considering painting and keeping them on just to save some $. what size 35 and 33 would you guys recommend for 17" stock rims? On the other hand if i did change rims what backspacing and width would be best?

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
For gears, i would 4.88 or 5.13. The tire choices you mentioned are all good. Some may bash the Toyos for weight but ar the end of the day it all boils down to what you like and how much you want to spend

·
Registered
231 Posts
Here's a vote for the Toyo's. Yes they're heavy but I've gotten 68,000 miles out of my 35's -- there is still enough tread left on them that when I bring up getting 37's my wife points at them and says there's still way too much tire left to be thinking about new ones so make sure they are the ones you want! I do rotate through all 5 every 4,000 miles.

·
Registered
2,828 Posts
Right now I run 5.13's with 35's on my auto and I find it perfect. When I switch to 37's I'm thinking I should've maybe gone to 5.38's, but time will tell.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
its pretty funny comming from Tj's. seemed like with those you did things in simple stages but with a jk its like stage one =37's. lol