JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an old Remington Fieldmaster 572 pump action .22. Was straightening out the rifle safe and trying to organize it. Its in definite working condition but pretty beat up.

What can I expect to pay to get it cleaned up, maybe even replace the stock or fore end and possibly clean up the receiver? Just an over all tune up too.

·
Premium Member
102 Posts
First I would say from your description of condition that your rifle is worth $80.00 or less, in 100% condition it would be approx. $170-195 having said that....Shop rates for a competent gunsmith run from $40-80 per man hour, clean and oil usually runs from 50-100 depending on complexity. Metal work (rust removal, re-bluing) can run upwards of $200. Then parts would add additional expense.
Should you just wish to remove minor surface rust check out Brownells.com item # 080-000-321AD Stainless steel sponge, great for removing rust...additionally they have all types of refinishing solutions many can be done safely at home for not much money.
You can also check lauerweaponry.com for duracoat, it is a paint for firearms, comes in every color and pattern, and the sell inexpensive kits to do it in your garage, very easy to do.
Check Numrich gun parts corporation, they have a great website and do stock factory replacement parts for your rifle, they have great schematic diagrams, however I checked the site and they are sold out of stock and forend, but they are always getting parts in. You have nothing to lose by trying it yourself.

Hope this helps

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks for the info! I realize I shouldnt have said beat up. Its in good condition; just hadnt seen it in yeeears and brushed all the dust off it. No rust. Needs a good cleaning. I took it shooting with my friend this morning and got a good hundred rounds out of it.