JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my AC compressor is shot due to mud/water getting in it. the dealer wants to charge me 1000$ to fix it..i think not. I found a basically brand new AC compressor for 100$ off a wrecked JK so now I just need to install it. however i'm having a hard time finding any info on how to go about doing this. I have some wrenching experience and can follow directions just fine. But I have no idea where to start with this. from what i understand i need to drain the freeon from the old compressor and then unbolt and replace with the new one. Has anyone done this before and can give me some tips? or point me in the right direction of where to find info on how to do this? Thanks!

·
Registered
169 Posts
They have to depressure the system and re pressure it best advixe is to take it to a local mechanic and have him swap them for ya.. still a little pricey but not 1000s like the stealerships

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
The freon needs to be properly evacuated. R-134a won't harm the ozone like R-12 but it is poisonous. :eek: Also, you would need to put a vacuum pump on the system to remove moisture. And finally, it would need to be refilled properly. Too much freon added will either cause the system not to work properly or damage your new compressor.

In other words, even though the physical part of removing and replacing a compressor is quite easy, it's best to let an A/C certified mechanic do it.

·
Registered
7,281 Posts
The freon needs to be properly evacuated. R-134a won't harm the ozone like R-12 but it is poisonous. :eek: Also, you would need to put a vacuum pump on the system to remove moisture. And finally, it would need to be refilled properly. Too much freon added will either cause the system not to work properly or damage your new compressor.