JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok..what kind of straps do i need? i see alot about straps with loops vs with hooks? tree straps, D-Shackles, Snatch Blocks..

what are they? what do i need?

I put on a rugged ridge bumper with D Rings..i see some places that require tow hooks to off-road..do they do the same thing? do i need to add hooks?

thanks
Steve

·
Registered
900 Posts
Hooks and D-rings function approximately the same way. Either is acceptable as a recovery point. As to the straps, I got a couple of 30' X 3" web straps with loops on each end, from the local auto parts store for about $35 each (I think). I've used them to pull my brother's Honda Element out of a snow bank as well as for a variety of things on various job sites (I used to build houses for a living). Next addition to the recovery package for me will be a cheap, 8000 lb. winch. I don't expect to use it much so a Smittybilt makes more sense than spending the big bucks on a Warn or a T-Max. Just my .02. :)

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
first off, nice choice on the bumper!

-Yes the D-rings are recovery points. All you do is unscrew the pin, put a strap on the ring, screw the pin back on and that’s your recovery point. It is the same as a tow hook (no truly the same, idea is the same)

-As far as straps. Get one with a looped ends. Metal hooks can break and create a metal flying object which you don’t want obviously. Now there are two kinds of straps, tow straps and snatch straps. A snatch strap expands when pulled quickly and then contracts to "snatch" the vehicle out.

-A tree saver is used for winching. You don’t want to wrap your winch line around the tree because it could harm the tree and mess up your cable by putting the metal hook on the line when you wrap it around a tree.

-A snatch block is used for a winch as well. It is a pulley that you attach to a tree, vehicle, w/e anchor you have to help with winching in various ways.