JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been quite convinced that my setup was allright, however...

I recently installed the RE 4,5" longarm on my JK, along with 37" tires. Got it to the alignment shop to get the whole setup properly. Never been totally satisfied with the overall handling of the Jeep since the lift (bouncing/vibrations). Today, when checking the protocol from the shop it says "Jeep Wrangler *TJ* 2003"...:what?: Makes me think something isn't like it should be. Tried search and found many different explanations, so I'd like to know the perfect numbers for the following on my JK, front respective rear:

1. Camber

2. Caster

3. Toe-in

4. Tire pressure (37"x13,5"x18")

5. Anything else to check/think about?

Any help appreciated!:)

·
Premium Member
3,985 Posts
I am not an expert- but.

toe does not change when you lift a JK
camber is not adjustable
I ended up adjusting in more positive caster until we were at about 8 degrees.

I have about the same lift and tires you do.

Its possible you have some driveline vibration from too much angle--- especially if you have a 2 dr. My 4 dr does not need drivelines changed.

Some 37s are difficult to balance- mine were. I ended up with "balancing sand" in mine. Got it pretty good now- still not perfect. I have TruXus MTs. But I have seen some 37s take almost no weight also (Scrogg's 37" Toyos have next to nothing on them)

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, just checked the rear driveshaft angle - it was way out of angle, and I now had it adjusted, hopefully this will help someway as well.

8 degrees positive caster have I heard before, so I guess that's were I wanna go...:)

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
if you have aftermarket double-cardan driveshafts, 8 degrees will be way too high.

if you don't have aftermarket driveshafts, and have a 2-door, you'd better get some soon, because your stock shafts aren't going to last long.