JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a rant, a novel rather. NWApache touched it off.

I grew up in Northern Idaho, Hayden to be exact. I started out pulling weeds for an apartment complex when I was 13, so I could get a new bicycle. I bought it, and it was the nicest thing I ever rode. I was proud.

When I turned 14 and started taking drivers ed, my father took me out and gave me the keys to a 77 chevy, two wheel drive. He told me that if I took care of his old farm truck, he would match me and put wheels, tires, and a stereo in it. I had $600 saved up, so we did all of those things. It wasn't anything like the rig I have now, but I was PROUD of this old truck.

I graduated off of that truck, and into a 1991 3/4 ton Dodge Cummins. Dad gave it to me, and said if I took care of it, we would get the steering figured out and make it drive like it was new. I failed to take care of it(again, it was given to me), so he took the damn thing back and stuck me with the 77. He took the ol' Dodge, had it fixed up and to set the point of what I missed out on, made me drive it home. I could't believe how well this thing drove. I remember like yesterday on the 15min drive, kicking myself for being a dumbass.

I bought my first Jeep shortly after, and HOLY SHIT I was PROUD of the thing. Didn't exactly treat her nice, but it was mine, I maintained it meticulously, and goddamit I was proud.

After I graduated highschool, I was your typical proud to be American small town farm kid. I looked around at the mountains, the smell of the barn, and how great it was to be where I was. I joined the USCG. Every pushup, every ass chewing, every trip through the obstacle course, every damn fire drill didnt matter because I was serving the Stars and Stripes. I was DAMN PROUD.