JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being a newbie I may have made a big mistake. Stopped on the way home and played in a big mud hole. Water up to rails of my stock 2014 JKU. Had to rock it a few times to get out. Stalled out twice but just started it back and kept going. Made it out and drove the 5 miles home. It ran fairly rough and stalled out on a couple of corners but made it home. After doing some reading I am scared to start it again. Any suggestions appreciated

·
CalmerThanYouAre
9,383 Posts
By rails you mean rock rails/about bumper height? Did water flood across your hood when you entered the mud hole?

·
Registered
528 Posts
So the water was only as deep as the rock rails?

Did you hit it high speed and get any splash up on the hood?

Did you check to see if air cleaner box has water or muddy residue in it?

The first time I took mine in muddy water I got a small amount of water/mud in the air cleaner box and it sputtered a bit and made the check engine light on for about 30 minutes sputtered a few more times and has been fine since then. That was at 500 miles and it now has 4900 miles.

I am NOT suggesting that you restart the engine. Check the air cleaner and report back.

Guess I type too slow cause Sin52 beat me to it.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Also, is your vehicle a manual gearbox? Did you operate the clutch while submerged in mud?
If so, you may have some problems related to that.....as well as possible water ingestion to the engine.

Personally, I stay the hell away from mud......its like dipping your vehicle in valve grinding paste, then going out and driving it. I hate the stuff.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Water at rock rails, did hitting with speed like an idiot ,water do come on the hood, is a manual transmission so did use clutch. Will check around the air intake/filter in the morning gas gauge was fine. Thanks for input

·
Registered
128 Posts