JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone around the northeast area want to help install the Offroad Evo rocker skins I've had sitting around since Christmas? A guy from work was going to help but he keeps backing out. I have no experience drilling precision holes or using rivnuts, or have a rivnut tool. Anyone? I'll drive to you. I'm located in Watkins Glen, NY.

·
Registered
3,115 Posts
Anyone around the northeast area want to help install the Offroad Evo rocker skins I've had sitting around since Christmas? A guy from work was going to help but he keeps backing out. I have no experience drilling precision holes or using rivnuts, or have a rivnut tool. Anyone? I'll drive to you. I'm located in Watkins Glen, NY.
Hope you find someone close to help

Sent via Telegraph.

·
Heat'n and a beat'n...
3,953 Posts
You need to install them with 4 bolts first, one on each corner. Once you have them installed with 4 bolts, then mark the rest of the holes with a new sharpie. Take the armor off, then use a center punch to lightly punch in the middle of each hole mark. I just eye balled the center when i installed mine. Once you lightly punch the center of each hole, start with a 1/8 bit and work youre way up 1/8 at a time until you get the hole to the right size. Thats what i did.

You can also install them with 4 bolts, leave them on and drill the holes using the armor as a guide. That will take the powder coat off of the inside of the holes, but i bet the holes will be in the right place. Actually, i think the holes for the nutcerts will be a little bigger than the holes in the armor, but doing it as i described will be a good start.

I hope this helped.

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I get the general idea, I just don't want to try it by myself, or learn how to do it alone on my Jeep. Plus I have no nursert tool.

Sent from my iPhone 4 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
470 Posts