JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked 5 of these up from Lunatic Customs today! I can't wait to get them mounted....

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I've never done it before but it can't be too hard. Any words of advice?

·
The Wheelin Man's Friend
8,653 Posts
Here's what I did that made life a little easier...

I took a black marker and picked out "top dead center" on one of the bolts. basically, with the wheel laying in front of me the center bolt across from me. Marked that one, counted 8, marked that one, counted 8 marked that one.

I had 4 points on the wheel that were directly across from each other and marked them 1, 2, 3, 4 in my head. Then went around in a criss cross pattern until they were all snugged down. Do this three times, starting at about 10 ft/llbs with the torque wrench.

I did the first one by hand...started the second one by hand and moved on to my 1/2" Dewalt with a socket adapter. By the time I got to the fourth wheel I broke out the impact, choked down the line pressure and went to town.

When all was said and done it took about 12 PSI to seat the bead and only a little pressure from my foot while airing up to get the bead to start to slide across. Nothing violent or crazy IMO, but I've mounted a lot of tires. These were extremely docile.

Take your time and be ready to spend an afternoon in the garage with some good tunes and beverage of your choice. I thoroughly enjoyed the install.

Marcus

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the advice Marcus -- 'ppreciate it. I figue the first one will take a while but by the time I get to the fifth one, I'll be an expert. I am looking forward to screwing with them this weekend.

·
Registered
5,199 Posts