JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My old picture tube TV is circling the drain and I will soon be in the market for a new one. I'm a total noob when it comes to the ins and outs of the new flat screen TV's. So since I know that TV is second only to Jeeping (well actually drinking is probably second to Jeeping) I figured I ask you guys for some help. What should I be looking for as far as type and brand. Good, bad, other wise. Not looking for a huge 70" home theater type, something a little smaller. Any brands to look at, or avoid? Edjumicate me.
Thanks in advance:)

·
Registered
659 Posts
I like Samsung the most... go flat LED...

Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk

·
V8 dreams
3,573 Posts
My brother and I just got mom n dad a 46" insignia led from bestbuy for $600. Picture looks good, tv looks good, and it has a 2 yr warranty that you don't have to pay extra for.

I would love to have gotten the Samsung but this saved us $200 and our parents could care less about name brands

Vandy

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Samsung LED has a great picture and one of the best on the market, and if you think you need it, their "Smart" LED t.v. is a pretty cool feature

·
Registered
159 Posts
Insignia actually Best Buy's brand and for the money are quite good. Nice thing about it being a house brand is if something goes wrong the repairs are fast.

I have a 26" tv/DVD unit for the spare room and the DVD play failed. I sent it out on a Monday and it came back that Friday. That includes 2 days of shipping!

Anyway, the one thing I would suggest is the extra warranty. It is at the entry level price point, which you can have a few more problems with.

As for other brands, you can't go wrong with Samsung or Sony for LED/LCD. Second to them would be Sharp or LG.

For Plasma, Panasonic is the top dog, but Samsung isn't a bad option for that either.

·
Registered
159 Posts