JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, first off I am new to the jeep world and have been doing some research but I have not' found a whole lot of info on pulling boats. I have a 2011 JKU, automatic with a 2 inch lift on 295/??/17's. I do not really trail or have not trailed my jeep yet but I do love to fish.

I am in the military and was stationed in SC where I would pull my bass boat around the small town I lived in. It was not a problem because of the low speeds in the small town. I have since moved to Baltimore md and will head down to SC to pick my boat up in the spring to bring up interstate 95 and pull around this area. My question to you guys would be, what would be the best gear ratio to pull my boat, appx 2000 pounds. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
661 Posts
I pulled my ski boat, 19' maxim, not sure how much it weighs but im sure its close to yours with my 08 with stock gears and 35 in tires, its not horrible but I think 4.10-4.88's would be a good choice for ya.
I have a 4.10 ring and pinion for the rear axle if your interested, yours if you want it, just pay for shipping.

·
Premium Member
3,067 Posts
With an auto 5.13-5.38 will be best. It will drive like a regular vehicle instead of an anemic slug on a salt flat raining razor blades with lemon juice fog!

·
Registered
661 Posts
I think 5.13's might be a bit steep for the tire he is running, on the other hand if/when you decide to go to a bigger tire youll already be ready to run.
Nice thing with the 2011 they increased the gearing in the transmission so you get a little more outta first and you have the extra gear in the top end for cruising down the high way.

·
Registered
461 Posts
Gear for the tire size, not the towing. (ie. the 99+% of the time you are not towing, not the less than 1% of the time you are). With a pre-'12 auto, no reason not to go 5.13/5.38 once you go above stock tire sizes.