JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I am pondering putting a locker in the rear diff of my 07 X. I was thinking of going with the OX or the Auburn Ected.
I have never worked on diffs before and was wondering how hard these would be to install? I have always worked on my own vehicles but never tackled anything like this before :shaking:.
Any insite would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Keith
S.W. Lower Michigan

·
Registered
962 Posts
I'll jump in here, from what I've read, nothing bolts straight in to the 07 D44. Our gears are thicker, and the ring gear holes have to be drilled out to accept the new locker parts.
So at a minumum, you are looking at modifying the stock components to accept the aftermarket ones, and setting your gears back up when you are done. Unless you know what you're doing, let a pro set your gears.
I was in the same boat as you, I wanted a rear locker. I priced all the parts and labor and found out for about 50 bucks more, I could get a complete Rubi rear axle assy with locker. I did the swap myself and saved the labor. I was even able to sell my old 44 so I really came out better going this way.
Plus, if it breaks, it takes stock off the shelf parts to fix that will eventually be more mainstream and cheaper.

The front D30, however, will take an Aussie locker with no mods. Again, this is what I've read, I have no direct experience with it.

Here's a link to a place that put an Auburn Ected in, not hard, but not a lot of room for error.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do, it's definately worth it!!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks John. I actually had considered that when I seen the rubi axles in my 4wd catalog. Any problems with the install?
Keith

·
Registered
962 Posts