JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, First of all let me say hello everyone. Im looking for some help with my LED installation. I bought some LEDs to put in that hook up through the cigarete lighter. How can I wire it so it wont need to be plugged into the the lighter port. Keep in mind, Im a senior in high school, so Im a novice. Thanks for the help in advance.

Here are some pics of what I have right now.

·
Registered
2,721 Posts
Not a big deal, hack the plug off of the end, it may have a fuse in the plug, if it does get a small inline fuse holder from radio shack or somewhere and install it on the positive feed. Even if it doesn't have a fuse put one on so it doesnt short, small amp fuse for the lights. Anyway take the positive and hook it up to the positive wire on the back of the cig lighter harnes and the other wire is the ground. Basically the center pin of the plug is positive and the outside is the ground, on the cig lighter the center is positive and the outside is the negative. be sure to try to fuse it, they may take a 5 ot 10 amp fuse at the most but I dout it will be much, the cig lighters are 20 25 amp fused so if the lights short it will probably not be enough to pop the fuse but it will be enough to cause serious issues. Hope this helps, looks good by the way.

A cooler place to tap in for the lights would be the ac control lights that way you can dim them when you want.

A great source of 12v help is ### . the12volt . c o m not sure if you can link here or not. If you need more help let me know I am about to do the same with individual led's, I just got done doing the "blinker mod" the other day, you need to do that as well, and don't forget to think about adding one to the glove box so you can find stuff if you need it at night.

·
Registered
2,721 Posts