JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Newbie here who recently picked up a new '13 Rock Lobster Red Unlimited JK. Love the Wrangler so far at 400 miles but HATE the weak headlights. My mods so far have been a set of black 17" Moab edition alloy wheels (came with 16" steelies), Moab edition rock sliders, and a Trail Armor bug deflector. My mods will be minimal but i just bit the bullet and purchased a set of Truck-Lite LED headlights and will be installing them this weekend. I have read nothing but positive reviews on these and look forward to much better night vision.

My second LED mod will be replacing the stock tail light housings with antiquated incandescent bulb technology. After researching the market I have decided to go with Isee-Systems genuine military composite LED tail lights. The robust military spec build quality, cool look, longevity, and increased rear visibility will hopefully offset the premium selling price. I plan to post some pics of the installs and before/after lighting differences so stay tuned.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
It's Saturday morning and time to for the install. Here are the Truck-Lite LED's fresh out of the box. They are significantly heavier than the plastic OEM headlights

Here is a photo before the install

The 6 upper plastic retainers were removed and the lower grill was popped out to get to this point. You will need to forceful when pulling the lower 6 hold down clips out of the retainers, just be careful and use a quick snapping motion

Grab your T15 Torx bit to remove the 4 screws that retain each stock headlight

Now remove the electrical connection from the headlight. You will need to slide the red clip to pop off the connection

You will need part 96630 Truck-Lite H4 to H13 adapters to install the LED's. This was actually the hardest part of the install. This is not an OEM part and needs some finesse to make it snap together