JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So, i just got done. took 2.5 hours with two people, neither one has ever done a lift,But i am a competent mechanic unlike my helper (USAF Loadmaster) who made some stuff a pita lol.

only snags i had is the guy that helped me stripped the nutplate for hte shock extender (where the stock shock bolts to) and i had to retap

the Traction/torsion/tension bar(**** i just forgot hte name of it), the relocation bracket, it sucked...horribly

I had to put it in a vice to squeeze it together, becuase hte side holes would not line up unless i did that sine the bracket was too wide to fit up in the factory bracket, use a crap load of washers instead of the sleeve in the middle, and then heat it, and bend it back out so the bar could go into the bracket.

also, the brake lines worry me, but i know its not a HUGE deal since the stock shocks dont extend too far. but when it was on a lift, and i turned the wheel all the way one way, they were straining. Not break or snap straining, but more than i like. but since that is the FURTHEST they will go, i have faith if teraflex says its good, its good.

No pics becuase its 8 at night, and a typhoon is comming in tonight and the morning. But i will get pics of hte lift next to a stock JK as well since i always see people asking for it.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
With the stock shocks and extensions you should be fine on the brakelines, but if you want to ease your mind you can bend the hardline at the frame side down just a bit, that'll add some effective length to the lines.

I passed your experience with that rear trackbar bracket to the quality control guys, too. Sorry to hear it didn't fit for you. :(

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I already tweeked both front brake lines and got another 3 inches out of it or so
im used to stuff not working, i build track cars lol.