JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok im new to Jeeps and off roading in general and this is pretty much my first post in these forums.

I was reading abit and researching about Big Bend Ranch. Found some great info on these forums. Then i ran into this website. well dang it wont let me post a link. :| What got my attention was this sentence . " Off-road driving of any kind is prohibited. "

Kinda goes against everything ive seen from that area. Perhaps im just taking it the wrong way. Was hoping some good folks here would chime in.

Was a decent excuse to post something anyway :smile2:

·
Super Moderator
15,337 Posts
It's a little misleading if interpreted the wrong way. Off road travel is prohibited but the word "road" can in certain areas be a very loose interpretation. "Roads" in some areas of Big Bend NP ( and even more so throughout Big Bend SP) are nothing more than washed out, rutted, boulder-laden, 4wd only routes. They are [again] in certain areas very rugged and almost not distinguishable as anything like a road as most people know a road to be. These "roads" can also be somewhat difficult to follow in some spots so extra diligence is required. Essentially you cannot simply head off in any direction that you choose so trail-blazing is absolutely forbidden. Maps are a necessity in some places out there due to the lack of identifiable roadways.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for reply that makes more sense. Alot of old trails and "roads" not maintained. Just cant go in any direction you please.

·
Super Moderator
6,179 Posts

man, if that were not a 17-18 hour drive from where I am , I'd be out there tomorrow morning getting lost on the poorly maintained "roads" . Beautiful looking state / federal park.:jeep2:

·
Super Moderator
15,337 Posts