JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm torn between a set of RockKrawler front LCA's and Poly's. I know Poly has the tried and true Johnny Joint, but how well does the RK setup hold up? I want to replace my aev control arm bracket to gain back the clearance lost. I have a set of Currie rear uppers, but for the front I'd like the RK for either the cost, or the Poly for the adjustability and proven CE joint. Both solve the clearance issue. I'm sure I can't go wrong in either case, and both have their perks, just looking for a little more info as I'm planning on ordering this coming week.

Any feedback appreciated. My concern is it is my DD, and I do somewhat excessive driving to where I don't mind some maintenance, but I don't want to have to rebuild them all the time either...~25k miles a year.

·
Registered
5,305 Posts
I've been using RK joints on all of my Jeeps for over 10 years. I have NEVER had to service one, nor have I had one fail. Some have been DD's and others strictly rock toys.
The tolerances are so tight on them that all you have to do is put a few drops of oil in the service ports once in a while. Keeping them somewhat clean will also help them last longer.
HIGHLY recommended!:)

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've been using RK joints on all of my Jeeps for over 10 years. I have NEVER had to service one, nor have I had one fail. Some have been DD's and others strictly rock toys.
The tolerances are so tight on them that all you have to do is put a few drops of oil in the service ports once in a while. Keeping them somewhat clean will also help them last longer.
HIGHLY recommended!:)
Thanks for the reply. Excellent to know as that's the way I'm leaning right now due to cost. I also found this thread after searching 20 pages of threads (that search really needs some fine tuning) http://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=26459&highlight=poly+control+arms

·
Premium Member