JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here we go... Ultimate Dana 60 swap

My JK was in an accident (Animal strike) so that was my excuse to start this whole project.

I know for a fact that a stock brake with 37's will not stop. That is a big part of my decision to go this way.

And here they are - Ultimate Dana 60's showed today.

44 laying near for comparison.

Attachments

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I'm kind of new at this posting but I will get more pics and the rest of the story as we go.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Supposedly the rear TB bracket is raised....it doesn't really look like it is in your pics. Is that just an illusion from the angle the picture is taken?
It is raised some but not as much as i would have liked. I will get some measurements tonight and let you know how much.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
You can use photobucket to host your images. Then, no limit.

Also it is hard to tell from the pics but I though the diff on these was supposed to be cocked like Currie for more clearance. Is that not the case or I just cant see it from the pics?
The front is but not the rear. Will get some better pics to show different things as we go along here.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
One more - mock up to see how it all fits. Still a lot more pieces to find and a few still in the box. All looks pretty good. The stock tie rod and drag ling would work if you wanted to use them. I had a Terraflex drag link flip on my 44 but the knuckle end is raised enough on the new knuckle that I may have to go back to an underslung link as shown here to get enough up travel on the passenger side.
Looks like the trac bar lowering bracket and brace may have to go as well. There will be a ram attached to the tie rod soon so I'm hoping there will be less force on the steering box and trac bar. Not sure on that one yet but will know pretty soon.