JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to the forums. A friend suggested them to me and I like what I have seen so far. I am a complete newbie to building up so here are my questions:

For tires, I hear a lot about the possibility of breaking the axle when I upgrade tires. I am not a hardcore off-roader but what would be the best tire size to go with so I won't snap my axle?

The things I definitely want to upgrade are the wheels, tires, bumpers and the rims above the tires(Not for sure what they're called). I've also read a lot about people changing their gears and the front axle. I'm assuming the main reason for doing so is just for a stronger axle?

Skid plates.. From what I understand, there are a few areas on the Sahara that weren't covered. Ideas?

Anyway, whatever suggestions for upgrading my Sahara would be much appreciated. Thanks!

· Banned
104 Posts
This forum helped me start and figure out my Rubicon build from stock to what its becoming. AS far as tires done exceed 35" and your axels are fine. For rims its your chice and preference, ( there are more choice for a 17 than 18" though) With the tire getting bigger your gear change will be up around 5.13 with a hypertech programmer to set your shift points, speedometer, and milege. Skid plates dont seem to be a priority if your not gonna wheel. Thats my 2 cents and let the other more knowledgeable people steer you through. Nics choice in vehicles though..What color

· Registered
1,167 Posts