JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening from the East Coast,

Forgive me, this is my first time posting in these forums. If I'm posting in the wrong place, or there is already a thread for this topic, feel free to redirect me.

Here goes: let's start with, I'm incredibly frustrated. I purchased a used jeep from a "non-Chrysler" dealership. It came with a hard top, but I also noticed there was a soft top folded up in the back. The salesmen had no idea if it had all of the parts for soft top installation, again, this is a dealership that specializes in another brand of vehicle.

My thought? Go for it! Soft top parts can't be that expensive or confusing. Plus, the most expensive parts (my assumption) (the framework/main overhead top) is already included. I can make it work.

Well, now that the weather is nice, I would like to get this soft top up and running. It came to my attention that the vehicle didn't come with windows. No worries, figured that out and they just arrived this afternoon. But, after doing more research, I'm thinking I need to buy more items to get this top up and running.

For example, I think I'm lacking the "door surrounds" among other things. I've tried to find videos, and other information of specific kits that you can convert hard top only jeeps to soft top/hard top types.

So, after this long, drawn out post. Essentially I'm trying to find any information regarding these issues. I've looked over the schematics with all the parts involved. I'm more or less looking for any help/information regarding some sort of all around kit that involves door surrounds, a tail gate bar, among various other items. I'm struggling to find a primarily hard top jeep to soft top conversion type of kit. But I already have the main bar and top setup.

I apologize if this is confusing. I can provide photos of what I'm working with if that helps.

Thanks in advance.

·
Comfortably Numb
12,289 Posts