JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,985 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have alot of run-ins with the 'law' for such a law abiding citizen! Bringing 8 trailers back from Al to Ca (home) to resell to help pay for fuel for the trip. I always thought if you were in a pick up truck you didnt need to go into the weigh station Port near the entrance of a state. I have been driving right by them for 25 years without a hitch. Today I was informed that you must in New Mexico:pissed: is that even a state?:thefinger: The nice officer wrote me up for 5 infractions, and cited me for 2 @ $150 each. I guess it could have been worse.
I argued that the trailers were in my name and for my personal use and I was not commercial. He didnt buy it and told me I could tell it to the Judge.:bawling:
Not worth coming back 1000 miles to fight a $300 ticket, so I pled guilty and took the ticket. Dustoff- I dont want to hear it:thefinger: One of my hobbies is getting a ticket, then try to 'loophole' my way out of it!:thefinger:

So here I sit in a motel- one of the things I got wrote up for is no log book---- if you dont have a logbook, they wont let you drive off for 10 hours.:shaking: So I can get going again at 12:45am Sunday morning!

OK- I feel better now after venting! Sorry, no pics this time!!!:beer:

·
Registered
1,847 Posts
Sounds like a load to me, it sounds like they saw you were from out of state and would prolly pay rather than fight it,,,that sucks. i have never heard of having to pull into one in a pick-up truck, and as for the log, maybe you should start one and start logging all your tickets :thefinger:

·
Premium Member
3,985 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
These are my infractions- he only cited me for 2 (he let me pick which 2)

1. Passing a weigh station without pulling in
2. not buying a trip permit from said station
3. no log book
4. no medical card
5. cant remember- I have to check my papers

·
Registered
1,165 Posts