JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to JKO and hope someone can help.
I have a 2008 JK 3.8, the problem is the engine won't shut off.I turn the key off and it keeps running.I have to disconnct the battery and redo the key on and off several times finally the engine stops.

Any ideas would be great

·
Registered
2,117 Posts
No clue on that one. Sounds like an electronics problem that should be handeled by the dealer.

·
Registered
3,730 Posts
yeah thats a new one :D
dealer time

·
Banned
3,226 Posts
I'm new to JKO and hope someone can help.
I have a 2008 JK 3.8, the problem is the engine won't shut off.I turn the key off and it keeps running.I have to disconnct the battery and redo the key on and off several times finally the engine stops.

Any ideas would be great
That is a new one to me as well. Should be a dealer warranty item though

Only thing I can think if is diconnecting the battery for the evening to reset it. People will often have strange computer related issues like this and clearing the ecu usually takes care of the issue. Try leaving it diconnected all night and if it still does it...visit the dealer

·
Registered
990 Posts
Christine ][?

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
is this a rubicon we are talkin about? I ask because so may of the strange electrical gremlins with them have been traced back to a faulty electric disco system... at the least its one more thing to rule out.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
No its not a Rubicon,its the weirdest thing though.
The engine will keep running but nothing else works including the cooling fan.
I was hoping not to have to go to the dealer as the closest one now is 250 miles.
Will try disconneting the battery overnight,will this cure it or might the problem come back.
Maybe it just wants to keep playing. lol

Thanks for the input guys.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
No. It did it about 2 weeks ago and was fine until last night.