JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my new ARB diff covers in the other day and I'm itchin to get them installed. This is my first time changing a cover (or even changing the fluid) so I had a couple questions for those more in the know!

1) What diff fluid do you recommend? Any particular brands? Should I stick with the weight specified in the manual (I haven't looked yet but I assume the manual has a recommendation)? Are there synthetics available? Should I go synthetic?

2) From the little research I've done it sounds like lube lockers are the best/easiest way to go. Does the standard D44 lube locker work on the JK D44? Any reasons not to go with a lube locker?

Thanks!

·
Banned
3,226 Posts
I just finished installing a new locker and diff cover. I used the lube locker. So far no leaks but I have only driven 30 miles so I suppose the next few days will be the test. It was nice to not have to wait for RTV to set up and when it comes time to open it back up again it will be nice to not have to scrape the RTV off.

I used Mobile 1 synthetic gear oil. In my opinion, Royale Purple and Mobile 1 are the best quality. If you are not towing I would use 75-w90. If you are towing I belive the manual recomends 85w-140.

The Lube locker for the JK d44 is the same as previous models. Only reson to not go with a Lube Locker is some users have said they leak. I have not personaly seen a leaking one yet. Other reason would be cost as compared to a tube of RTV.

·
Registered
173 Posts
I used lube lockers when switched my diff covers. They are awesome. I never again want to spend and hour scraping old RTV off the D44. And yep, they work on JKD44s.

I've even had my covers off, and re-used the same lube lockers. No leakage whatsoever.

·
Registered
1,503 Posts