JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys. I know I have a low post count, but I've been lurking for a while before I signed up and I frequently use the search feature. I am an avid wheeler, so I am not a noob in that regard. I have built a few 73-87 Chevy's, a couple Early Broncos, and I currently own a mildly built Scout. But as far as JK's, yes I am a super noob. I am also a senior mechanical engineering student, so I am capable of figuring out these complex problems that are inherent in a full on build. But I do not currently even own a JK. I am planning my next rig, and I like to plan the WHOLE rig out before I even get started. I have wasted way too much money in the past to have not learned to do so. If I can't figure out how to make it all work, then I shouldn't buy a JK as it would be a step in the wrong direction (even though I really like them).

I will NOT buy new axles from a supplier. I want to build my own, and I would like rear steer. I live in the southeast, and we like to bounce around with the pedal to the wood when the crawlin doesn't work so she's gotta be able to take the beating. For these reasons, I would like to purchase two 78-79 Ford high pinion front D60's. The plan is to retube both axles, but to keep them full width. The front would be made into a passenger side differential, and the rear would be centered. This would work in conjunction with a divorced passenger side NP205 with twinsticks (that I already have) [edit- to clarify, I intend to install the NP205 behind the stock case]. The idea is to only have to have custom shafts made for the rear axle, and to be able to get off-the-shelf shafts for the front. Tons, cases, 4WS, and suspension will have to do for now. Engine/transmission/front-tcase swap would be planned at a later date.