JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the JK market... new to the Jeep market actually after selling my 100series turbo diesel cruiser... I am looking at a 2008 JK diesel with a 5speed automatic, its got 65,000kms.

From anyone's experiences what is the reliability like?

Is there anything i need to specifically watch out for? Even just model specific?

I have searched through a few jeep forums and haven't really found anything or anyone who has had a big issue with the 2.8L CRD motors?!?!?

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,
Ryan

·
Registered
3,972 Posts
I am new to the JK market... new to the Jeep market actually after selling my 100series turbo diesel cruiser... I am looking at a 2008 JK diesel with a 5speed automatic, its got 65,000kms.

Is there anything i need to specifically watch out for? Even just model specific?

I have searched through a few jeep forums and haven't really found anything or anyone who has had a big issue with the 2.8L CRD motors?!?!?

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,
Ryan
That's because they aren't offered in the States, so almost no one here will be able to give you any firsthand experience with the diesel platform. That said, there are some members here outside the US who may be able to give you some insight. We're stuck with the 3.8L V6 gasoline engine.

·
Registered
3,972 Posts
BTW, many members here would kill to be able to purchase a diesel JK, so lucky you :beer:

·
Registered
10 Posts

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,
Ryan
Here in Australia they are pretty reliable, but the common thing that goes is the turbo pipes, we all upgrade them to better aftermarket type.

·
Registered
6,150 Posts
I have a liberty CRD which is a similar engine 2.8. At 90K had the alternator pulley go,replaced timing belt at 100K (reg maintainence),Turbo hose blew at 122K. Currently has a CEL to replace a glow plug 123K. So far seems to be fairly reliable to me never left us stranded!

Jason

·
Registered