JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at the stupid location of the steel valve stems on my Jk, it won't be long until a rock rips them off. A buddy told me I can't change them out for rubber because the steel stems have the sensor for the "thing a ma jingy".

He could be right, I am new to JK's. But I would sure like to replace that steel stem with a rubber stem. Anyone have solid info on this. I tried a search but wasn't smart enough to use the correct phrase so I got nothing.

Thanks!

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What happens if I replace them with rubber stems?

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
Your TPMS light will stay on and beep at you 4 times every time you start it. Eventually, you'll get used to it and not even notice it. I know because that's exactly what I did.

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
You can also get an AEV Procal to set TPMS to 0 to stop the beep at startup.
Don't you need the TPMS sensors installed for that to work? If not, I'm definitely getting one. I'll need one sooner or later when I re-gear, but if it will turn off the light with regular valve stems installed, my purchase will be sooner than later.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the replies.
Since I need to re-gear also, I guess I need to learn about the Procal.

When you replaced the stems, did you use standard size or are they bigger than average? Diameter that is.

·
Premium Member
781 Posts
Don't you need the TPMS sensors installed for that to work? If not, I'm definitely getting one. I'll need one sooner or later when I re-gear, but if it will turn off the light with regular valve stems installed, my purchase will be sooner than later.
Nope. I put Rubi wheels & tires with regular rubber valve stems on my gf's JK and used it to turn off the sensor until I have time to switch over the valves from her stock steelies.

·
Registered
313 Posts