JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for some opinions on the best short arm lift for on road ride and performance.

I know that most kits out there will do fine for what I need off road that is why I am more concerned about on road performance. I do not want to bring price into the equation and short arm lifts only.

At the top of my list so far are Clayton and AEV.

·
Premium Member
1,134 Posts
This should be interesting. I like Terraflex, Rock Krawler and Currie. :thefinger:

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Just to clear some things up I am only new to the JK here is a link to LJ I built last year.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/gcally-lj-build-680123/index11.html

I ended up selling the LJ because the poor on road performance and how hard it was to get my 2 year old in and out of the jeep. My LJ had the best of everything on it and it was a shame that I only got to use it a couple of times.

But reality is….. After spending 20K on a 3 year old JK I want to use it and not let it sit in the garage. I have little time to actually go on wheeling trips (only 7 or 8 a year) so the new 4 door JK must perform and ride on the road very well or it will never get driven. And let’s be honest it is amazing where a stock Rubicon will go off-road so most lift kits out there will be fine for what I need it to do.

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
I love my RockKrawler stuff, but their arms aren't exactly that smooth riding. They are basically rigid so hits get tranfered to the frame. I am curious about this as well.

·
Registered
866 Posts
Dude, with the coming Metal Cloak flares you'll fit 35's with no lift. How's that for keeping road manners?
For $20K for a 3 year old, I hope you got a Rubicon for that price.

·
RIP Brad
3,762 Posts
Mmmm, mmmm.... I love me some Johnny Joints. Not sure, but does anyone but Currie offer them at both ends of the arms?