JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I take the jk in today to get aligned and get a phone call an hour later saying I need an offset ball joint because my camber is off by 0.9 degrees. Shop tells me this happens to most vehicles after they get lifted. I have rk 3.5 inch lift with high steer kit all 8 control arms and such. What could have cause such a thing to happen? Would like input as to the fact I am new to jeeps and am not that good mechanically. Also want input before I fork out 300 bucks.

·
Registered
2,828 Posts
Do you wheel the jeep hard? Also, are your axles sleeved/gusseted? Your axle "c's" are more than likely bent which is why your camber is off. Offset balljoints will fix your issue. If you're not sleeved/gussted, and wheel hard I'd definitely suggest it.

·
Registered
126 Posts
My jeeps camber was off from the factory. It's my understanding no one makes a offset balljoint for the jk. I just had them adjust what they could and have 11k on it with no problems. The tires seem to be wearing fine.

The only thing is when driving it seems to want to drift to the left if I let go of the wheel.

·
Registered
2,828 Posts
Camber on the jeep is not adjustable, so really the only solution if you want camber back to specs is the offset balljoints. I know it sucks to spend more money, but I'd do it along with at minimum c-gussets for piece of mind.

·
Registered
3,175 Posts
your camber is fine from what I can tell. Your off by not even a degree

·
Registered
3,175 Posts
I do not have the specs unfortunately. If you don't mind me asking how much did you pay to get sleeved and gusseted?