JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
3,341 Posts
Beautiful.

I'm not an expert but have been around Chebys for 35 years. The first year for the 283 is 1957. The '55 and '56 V8 option was a 265.

· Registered
6,372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
you are correct, I typed to quick.

I have the original window sticker for the car so I can double check it later ;)

Unfortunately, it was dads car, he's had it for 25+ years and put less than 100 miles on it in that time (I probably put more on it than him!) and he passed away over the holidays.
So I guess I'm gonna try to sell this one to help mom out.

· Coonasian
1,831 Posts
I don't want to be crass but that thing is worth a small fortune. I hope you don't jump at the first buyer. Sorry about your dad.

· Registered
821 Posts
I don't want to be crass but that thing is worth a small fortune. I hope you don't jump at the first buyer. Sorry about your dad.
Mecum or Barrett Jackson would be the place to sell this beauty. But I wouldn't dare part with it unless you (your mom) absolutly has to.

Also sad to hear about you father. My condolences :th_pray:

· Banned
15,534 Posts
Sorry to hear about your Dad's passing.

That beautiful little Chevy will net you a handsome sale price one day, to be sure. Considering it was your Dad's car, I doubt that will be happening anytime soon. I would keep that one for the occasional Sunday afternoon cruise just to keep it in running condition and a way to reconnect with your old man. Absolutely unheard of to see a 55 chevy with only 31K original miles on it.

Speaking of your Dad, is that the man himself in the background of the first pic?

· R.I.P. Mr. Nibbles!
8,961 Posts
The car is beautiful. More importantly sorry about your Father. I'd have a hard time selling it given the circumstances, but completely sensible as well. Either way, sorry for your loss Brother.

· Registered
215 Posts