JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally had enough of the completely sluggish performance of my 09 sahara 4 door. Made a call to Northridge 4x4 and order 5.13 Yukon gears with the master bearing kit. Had a good mechanic I know install them today. I have read a ton of threads about the difference that gears make and thought i would help those out who are on the fence with the cost.

First impression. Got in and drove home from shop. Tranny is shifting quickly but man it just feels like I am getting all of the power that the anemic 3.8 has available. It is somewhat effortless to get up to speed. The drive home brings a smile to my face.
I hook my Superchips flashcal and tune CPU for correct gears and then take for a test drive. Now I get it. It is back to stock or better performance. I have a AFE intake with Flowmaster exhaust. It is night and day on acceleration. granted its still a lifted jeep (3.75") but it feels so much more responsive. when pulling out into traffic I no longer feel like I am having to hold my foot to the floor to pace traffic. I cant wait to see the difference off road. I am on the fence with upgrading to the flashpaq and selling the flashcal. Its hard to justify the cost. For those that wonder if the cost of gears are worth it, my simple answer to you is yes. If you want to enjoy driving your lifted jeep with larger tires, beg and borrow to get it done. I have 33's now but will upgrade to 35s when these are done unless I can find someone who wants to swap.

· Premium Member
1,292 Posts
X2 on my 2012. Pulled my M101a2 loaded with my dauter's college move-in stuff from Livermore to Reno this weekend and was really glad I had the 5.13s. Set it on cruise and let it walk. Very few down-shifts to 3rd, even in the sierras. Gears are kinda like the Curtis-Mathis TV slogan from back in the '60s and '70s: "a little more expensive, but darn well worth it."

· Registered
565 Posts