JKOwners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any body seen a gear chart for the new 3.6 with 5 speed auto? I will be going with 35's and wonder how the 3.73's will hold up. Will not see rocks as I live in south Louisiana. Also how do the 3.73's do on the highway with 35's? A lot of downshifting?

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
The final drive is similar to the manual tranny on older JKs so you can go off that.

·
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
22,098 Posts
Noob here, how do you read that chart? I guess if you in the green your OK?
yes. So to run 37's on a 12 automatic I only need 4.56 gears. WTF over.

·
Registered
18 Posts
This chart is dead on and the 3.6 is pretty wicked. I have a 2012 6spd and I still have the crappy 3.21s running 35s!! I'm currently getting 21mpg during my 120 mile / day commute. 70mph leaves me at about 1700rpm. Granted as soon as I need to pass anyone on the highway or go uphill I need to downshift out of 6th but IMO this is what a true over drive should be anyway. In today's cars it sometimes makes no sense, I have a 2012 TL 6spd and I can accelerate uphill in 6th...that's stupid. I always thought a highway overdrive gear should give you the best performance regarding mileage. Anyway, to solve my shitty offroad performance I just swapped in a rock-trac which now gets me low enough off road even with the 3.21s. I think I'm still gonna re-gear when I drop my lockers in but I'm torn between 3.73s or 4.10 (leaning towards 4.10)

·
Registered
118 Posts
I've got 3.73's and 35's and it's real close to being good enough. I want just a little more so am going with 4.56's. I know that I will lose a little mileage, but want some more bottom end. If it's flat in LA, I wouldn't change them.

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
I have 37's, 3.73's and the shitastic 3.8 and my jeep is fine

·
Registered
233 Posts