JKOwners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! So I finally started my project! I used Farm Strong mid mount motor mounts. I spent several hours after work mocking them up and just welded them in this afternoon. A little background; I've always owned Jeeps, since 1980.. For the last ten years or so i have been longing to put a diesel in one so, parts collection began. Finally found the right Jeep early last spring (2019). And started the assembly process three weeks ago. I have enjoyed the forums here and thought I'd share mine in the hopes that it will promote others to take on the challange. Disclosure, I'm not a mechanic (Ret PSP Corporal), just very fond of Jeeps & Cummins.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Going with an NV4500, had everything mocked up last week and the only real problem I can see is that I'll have to bend/Angle the shifter back. Is there anything else I should be concerned about? Any helpful hints would be appreciated :)

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Update, I have a few more things to do but tonight I just couldn't wait and I turned the key.. it turned over very well, I left the fuel shut-off power wire disconnected. Just wanted to hear it crank over. Should be able to start/drive it soon. Things to do; lower rad hose, temp/oil sensor and vacuum pump wiring.

·
Super Moderator
6,284 Posts
What's the weight difference between oem v6 ( was it 3.8l? or '12 or newer JK?) & that BT4?
I , too, am impressed by how well that fits in the jk engine bay. I've seen other bt4 conversions but yours really shows the space it's occupied.
Will it shake , probably a bit but so far , super cool

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·