AEV Bumper Maintenance / Rust Repair - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 Old 05-16-2012, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

AEV Bumper Maintenance / Rust Repair

While I wrote this about an AEV bumper, many of the techniques can be applied to any bumper out there. I am not a professional body person, so some of this probably isn't the best or most professional way, but it should last for a few years.

I recently decided to do some rust repair on my AEV front bumper, and while I was at it I decided to cut the light mounts off my AEV front bumper to be able to mount the LED bar a bit lower. I also had an AEV skid to install that was new, and I originally didnít get the skid holes aligned properly, so this meant the bumper had to get loosed up or come off. Here is where the LED bar was originally mounted.

I used the Baja Designs long brackets on the light, and there was about a 1.25Ē gap between the top edge of the bumper and the bottom of the light.
I am not going to go into the details of installing / removing the AEV bumper since it is pretty well documented. Some things I noticed though were the stainless steel face bolts were all galled. I ended up using a cutoff wheel to remove the bumper. I had the same issue on the winch bolts. I snapped two heads off the bolts, and I needed to drill them out. I didnít use anti-seize originally, but I did use it for reassembly.

To remove the light tabs I took a cutoff wheel and cut through the weld just above the face of the bumper. I then ground down and used a flap wheel to get this flush with the face. After this stage the bumper look like the following.

Then I tackled the rust repair. I used Eastwood Rust Encapsulator on the rust I had on the bumper, and also on the winch mount / frame rails. Everything was just surface rust, and not too bad yet, however if you donít take care of it is can get out of hand quickly.