Easy Switched Power Source - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By j3ff3ry_j33p
  • 1 Post By Uncle Sams Misguided Child
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 08-16-2011, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
ronjenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,872
Feedback: 0 reviews
Easy Switched Power Source

If your TIPM (fuse box) is set up like my 2008 is....

Here is a way to get switched power from the fuse box. It's easier than installing wires in the connector under the TIPM, although not quite as clean an install.

The fuse tap came from Advance Auto, Buss catalog # BP/HHH. It is rated for 10 amps, so that will be the max fuse you should put in it.
For use as outlined, only the top fuse position can be used, as the bottom fuse would send power to an empty wire socket in TIPM connector C6.










Last edited by ronjenx; 09-05-2013 at 07:55 AM.
ronjenx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 08-29-2011, 01:54 PM
bkw
Granite Guru
 
bkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New York
Age: 46
Posts: 143
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thank you! I've got way too many things spliced into my 12V behind the center console.

I'm not really that electrically literate, so pardon me if this is a stupid question, but how much can 10w hold safely? Will it provide sufficient and safe power to my GPS and CB?

2009 Stone White JKU
RIPP | Teraflex | Bilstein | AEV | Dunlop | Smittybilt | ARB | IPF | Hella | Pioneer | PPi
>>
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<<
bkw is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 08-29-2011, 03:18 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Goodysgotacuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 13,230
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkw View Post
Thank you! I've got way too many things spliced into my 12V behind the center console.

I'm not really that electrically literate, so pardon me if this is a stupid question, but how much can 10w hold safely? Will it provide sufficient and safe power to my GPS and CB?
More than likely it will be fine for the CB. I don't recall exactly how much a CB draws, but it's a couple of amps I believe. Look at the fuse for the CB or the current draw rating for what you are trying to power off of it.

SOLD - '09 2dr Rubicon - 1.0Gal | 6spd | 37s | 4.88s |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| OR-Fab cage | Poly Cage | BFH Front | XRC Rear | XRC12 Winch | Walker Evans Beadlocks |

Retired from the Jeep community, for now.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Goodysgotacuda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 08:39 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Age: 42
Posts: 5,606
Feedback: 3 reviews

SO will this safely power 55 watt lights? Would it power 2 setts of 55 watt lights?
jkristie44 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 08:43 AM
JKO Addict!
 
gold knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Age: 53
Posts: 11,065
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkristie44 View Post
SO will this safely power 55 watt lights? Would it power 2 setts of 55 watt lights?
No it will safely power your switch and trigger the relay (the green wire in the diagram). Run the big power to your relay straight from the battery with an in-line fuse of the size they recommend.

........My other hobbies include: Older cars and trucks; Spending money on unfinished projects, and continuing to not finish them...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExWrench View Post
For my money, the most notable part of this thread is all the fallout from bsack's fortune cookie factory explosion.
gold knight is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 08:51 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Goodysgotacuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 13,230
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold knight View Post
No it will safely power your switch and trigger the relay (the green wire in the diagram). Run the big power to your relay straight from the battery with an in-line fuse of the size they recommend.
^ this. Two pairs of 55w lights will almost draw 20amps. That little adapter is only rated to 10amps, but the fuse box sure isn't. I wonder if there are any higher rated fuse taps.


Sent via paper airplane

SOLD - '09 2dr Rubicon - 1.0Gal | 6spd | 37s | 4.88s |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| OR-Fab cage | Poly Cage | BFH Front | XRC Rear | XRC12 Winch | Walker Evans Beadlocks |

Retired from the Jeep community, for now.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Goodysgotacuda is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 09:19 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Age: 42
Posts: 5,606
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold knight View Post
No it will safely power your switch and trigger the relay (the green wire in the diagram). Run the big power to your relay straight from the battery with an in-line fuse of the size they recommend.
That's what I meant. If I was going to wire up two sets of lights, can I run both switches off of this?

I picked one up and it does not look like you can fit two of them in the fuse box. If that fuse was vertical, it would be alot easier.
jkristie44 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Rock God
 
ronjenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,872
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkristie44 View Post
That's what I meant. If I was going to wire up two sets of lights, can I run both switches off of this?

I picked one up and it does not look like you can fit two of them in the fuse box. If that fuse was vertical, it would be alot easier.
I just tried it on mine, and two of these fuse taps will not fit at the same time.
I don't know if a tap with a higher rating is available.

You can supply power to both switches, provided the switches will only trigger the relay for each set of lights. Relay coils don't draw much amperage.

This thread is designed for ease of tapping switched power.
A little more difficult method that would result in a higher amp capacity, can be seen here:
https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56895

This will also work with the three fuse locations listed above. The wire connector is a different one, though.

Last edited by ronjenx; 08-31-2011 at 10:01 AM.
ronjenx is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 10:44 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Muvovr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 3,105
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkristie44 View Post
That's what I meant. If I was going to wire up two sets of lights, can I run both switches off of this?

I picked one up and it does not look like you can fit two of them in the fuse box. If that fuse was vertical, it would be alot easier.
Hey James,

The answer is NO.......... One Switch per Circuit . That means a separate relay. So find another tap somewhere in the fuse box or wire up a relay circuit .

EDIT: and stop trying to use 30 amps on a circuit only supplying 10 to 15 you fister.......

The Project is moving forward.
Muvovr is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 11:20 AM
JKO Addict!
 
gold knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Age: 53
Posts: 11,065
Garage
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muvovr View Post
Hey James,

The answer is NO.......... One Switch per Circuit . That means a separate relay. So find another tap somewhere in the fuse box or wire up a relay circuit .

EDIT: and stop trying to use 30 amps on a circuit only supplying 10 to 15 you fister.......
He is not lol. We both misunderstood his question (or rather he asked the wrong question). He will have two relays and two switches to trigger them Best I can get depending on brand is about 1amp or less each so YES James you will be fine.

........My other hobbies include: Older cars and trucks; Spending money on unfinished projects, and continuing to not finish them...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExWrench View Post
For my money, the most notable part of this thread is all the fallout from bsack's fortune cookie factory explosion.
gold knight is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 11:23 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Muvovr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 3,105
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gold knight View Post
He is not lol. We both misunderstood his question. YES James you will be fine.

Well then quit fisting people.....

The Project is moving forward.
Muvovr is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 11:25 AM
Granite Guru
 
Taxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 42
Posts: 481
Feedback: 3 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muvovr View Post
Hey James,

The answer is NO.......... One Switch per Circuit . That means a separate relay. So find another tap somewhere in the fuse box or wire up a relay circuit .

EDIT: and stop trying to use 30 amps on a circuit only supplying 10 to 15 you fister.......
He could absolutely run both switches off one fuse tap. It's done everyday and there is no reason not to. Why run two fuses/wires when all you need is one. The relays the switches will control will pull about 150mA each, the switches will not draw any current unless they have a light on them and in that case most of those are LEDs and draw negligible current. In the case it's an incandescent bulb you're talking MAYBE a 2w bulb which would be about 160mA current draw. So even if he has two lighted switches powering 2 30A relays the current draw is less than 1A even with the built in resistance of the wire and all the connectors. That is well under the 10A the fuse holder is rated for.
Taxx is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 08-31-2011, 11:25 AM
Granite Guru
 
Taxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 42
Posts: 481
Feedback: 3 reviews

Looks like I am too slow.
Taxx is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 05-08-2018, 04:52 AM
Super Moderator
 
j3ff3ry_j33p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 5,756
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

darn

It sure sucks each and every time you run into a thread that Photobucket has rendered useless by no longer hosting the images. I wanted to see this !




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
j3ff3ry_j33p is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 05-08-2018, 05:33 AM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 21,950
Feedback: 8 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by j3ff3ry_j33p View Post
darn

It sure sucks each and every time you run into a thread that Photobucket has rendered useless by no longer hosting the images. I wanted to see this !


What do you need to see? I am running 2 of these little fuse adapters. I can get you a pic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 05-08-2018, 10:08 AM
JKO Addict!
 
gt1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Iberia, La.
Posts: 3,754
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by j3ff3ry_j33p View Post
darn

It sure sucks each and every time you run into a thread that Photobucket has rendered useless by no longer hosting the images. I wanted to see this !


I just did the photobucket fix yesterday. I can now see all the old pictures on any website.

https://github.com/BridgeTroll-IO/ph...=1525799198842

Kevin
gt1guy is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 05-09-2018, 04:07 AM
Super Moderator
 
j3ff3ry_j33p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 5,756
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Sams Misguided Child View Post
What do you need to see? I am running 2 of these little fuse adapters. I can get you a pic.
just the item ronjenx is talkin about in the first, OP. Is it just those little inline- fused, diy pigtails that runs into a switched power source in fuse box ?

I had to get some cheapO, Bluetooth controlled rocklights ( upcoming trip and I was odd man out on last group ride due to not havin them) and it looks like I gotta run the cheap, Chinese made power into the controller directly to the battery, so I was lookin at power source solutions is why. Thanks, Gunny




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
j3ff3ry_j33p is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 05-09-2018, 04:26 AM
Super Moderator
 
j3ff3ry_j33p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 5,756
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt1guy View Post
I just did the photobucket fix yesterday. I can now see all the old pictures on any website.

https://github.com/BridgeTroll-IO/ph...=1525799198842


Whether its a 27 year , veteran Identity Access Management architect ( like a few weeks ago ) or myself will attest to, be mighty careful what ya grab from GitHub.

You guys know what I do for my career and what software I work with/develop ; as GitHub can be the most useful resource at times, it is also one of the targets which yields such detailed attack vector troubleshooting and analysis for one of the biggest software companies in the world.
Things ( source code) can start off useful but be turned as they are updated.

I have no doubt the ext functions but make sure you are monitoring the traffic and where your data is being sent, Kevin.

You saw this, right?___>

https://github.com/BridgeTroll-IO/ph...k-fix/issues/1

It seems dvil88 might have mucked the awesomeness up for everybody by using redirect URLs for several of the queries...it would be easy to use that to snag a log of every browser page if one wished to collect user data like that.

I use GH and many other repositories for code and scripts and snippets so thought Id underline that for others . I am betting you caught it, but just being secure- thats kinda what I do





To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
j3ff3ry_j33p is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 05-09-2018, 05:36 AM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 21,950
Feedback: 8 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by j3ff3ry_j33p View Post
just the item ronjenx is talkin about in the first, OP. Is it just those little inline- fused, diy pigtails that runs into a switched power source in fuse box ?

I had to get some cheapO, Bluetooth controlled rocklights ( upcoming trip and I was odd man out on last group ride due to not havin them) and it looks like I gotta run the cheap, Chinese made power into the controller directly to the battery, so I was lookin at power source solutions is why. Thanks, Gunny


Yeah not the best to run them straight from the battery.

googled the part number and got this:

j3ff3ry_j33p likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome