Rough Country Bumper Cap Install - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 05-31-2010, 10:40 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Rough Country Bumper Cap Install

Ok, this is my first attempt at a write up. Hopefully this turns out ok...

First, here is my Jeep with the stock bumper:

I picked up a bumper cover from a member here (thanks Don!) that had fog light cut outs. I planned on doing the standard bumper chop but Rough Country released their bumper cap kit (http://www.roughcountry.com/jeep_xtras_1047.html) and I thought that could save me a lot of time.

The kit includes two caps, 10 "Christmas tree" style plastic fasteners, and instructions. Pretty basic. The instructions say you can install the kit while the bumper is mounted or unmounted. Since the bumper I bought was sitting in the garage and I was waiting on the lights and harness to arrive, I went ahead and installed it while the bumper was off the Jeep.

First step is to mark the bumper 3.5" from the crush can protrusion and cut that portion off.

I found that at 3.5: you have to be very careful not to hit the nut inserts that are in the bumper cover. In the picture below I measured out 3.75" and cut there. On the other side I cut at 3.5" and hit one of the inserts.

BTW - I cut the bumper with this using a wood blade that was on the finer side of the wood blade spectrum:

Don't worry if you leave more than the recommended 3.5" of material on the bumper. There is plenty of clearance on the caps and they will actually butt up to the crush can portion of the bumper. On the end that I cut at 3.75" there was still at least a 1/2" of clearance between the bumper and the cap. Also, don't worry of your cuts are not straight - they are completely covered.