CB RADIO w/ FIRESTIK INSTALL (Glove Box Mounted) - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 03-23-2010, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Garage
CB RADIO w/ FIRESTIK INSTALL (Glove Box Mounted)

I know CB installs have been covered in the past but here's my set up. I have basic knowledge of wiring, cbs, and tools so I don't claim to have the PERFECT or BEST set up out there. If you see something that could be improved please let me know....

PARTS:
Cobra 18 WX ST II (~$65 amazon)
3' Firestik using (~$25 amazon)
Teraflex Tailgate Mount (~$20 used)
18' Astatic Coax (~$16 ebay)
Astatic SWR/POWER meter with 3' jumper cable (~$20 ebay)
Firestik Heavy Duty Stud Mount (~$13 amazon)
10' of 3/8" plastic wire Conduit (~$8 auto parts store)
30 Amp In-Line water "proof" Fuse using 10Amp fuse however (~$4)
12 guage wire, connectors for cb mount ground, power to battery, cb ground, etc. (~$15 car parts store)
(OPTIONAL: Switch and Relay setup add another ~$10 for parts)
EXTERNAL SPEAKER OPTION: add $10-$20 for having a speaker in sound bar or under dash for example
TOTAL PROJECT COSTS (estimated): $186

tools needed: sockets, wire crimper, circuit tester
electric grinder or Dremel tool for cutting plastic and metal around glove box

To get power from the battery to the CB run a wire clothes hanger through the firewall using the hole with foam behind it. Once you're through then tightly tape your wire to the hanger and pull back through. MAKE SURE TO put plastic wire Conduit around your wire that touches any metal to protect it from wearing through the wire coating:

Eventhough your CB probably will have fuse(s) inline from the box it is a good measure to put an in-line fuse right off of the battery and before the firewall for easy access to kill power to the CB if needed or to prevent overheating and fire through your wiring...i used: