AFE on 2014 JK - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-14-2014, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Location: Currently stationed at Fort Carson Colorado, and Live north of Colorado Springs
AFE on 2014 JK

Since I am finally starting a new build I thought I would start posting the Mods and my experience with them. First up just installed an AFE Intake.

I drive back and forth to work and put a lot of miles on my jeep so even a little help with mileage would be nice. Yes I know I drive a jeep so looking for an increase in mileage seems redundant but any help is help. Also any extra power is good if it can be achieved.

I have never used AFE products before but I figure I would try it since I had read some good reviews. Here are my impressions.

My jeep is a 2014 JK unlimited rubicon with an Auto.

During the intall I found it to be extreamly, easy so I'm not going to insult anyone's intelligence with a step by step of the install.

Components looked well made and of good material for what it is.

However since we have all levels of mechanical expertise on here there was a couple notes I took for a DIY beginner during the install as I think the instructions did not cover these points well. So these would be my recommendations.

Take care when removing the temp sensor wire from the temp sensor in the factory intake as this is a delicate component. You want to squeeze the base of the connector on the flat part of the catch and it will release with ease, if your trying to force it at all to pull on it look again where your squeezing the release.

When removing the temp sensor from the bung in the factory intake tube use the small tab that protrudes from the actual sensor to turn it counter clockwise 45*. It is only the center part being removed not the whole bung.