JKD44 Front Axle Build - Cut & Turn, Nitro Sleeves, Artec Truss, etc - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 Old 02-11-2014, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!

JKD44 Front Axle Build - Cut & Turn, Nitro Sleeves, Artec Truss, etc

I suppose this will somewhat walk the line of a "write-up" thread with the Cut and Turn portion in it.

First off, I've never done a cut and turn on an axle before, this was our first. If you're wondering why we took a perfectly good Dana 44 housing and put it to a chop saw, I'll explain. The factory JK housings are plagued with low pinion angle separation. Well what in the hell is that?

Well I'll refer to pinion separation as the angle between the pinion angle and caster. If you're not sure what caster is, there are tons of explanations for that which are better than how I can describe it. Anyway, the JK housing has a 6° of separation. So when the pinion is parallel to the ground [0°], there is 6° of caster. Which is fine when you're stock, but as you start to lift your rig, you're going to run into pinion angle problems sooner than later. The stock driveshaft with it's CV joint is great at eating up driveline vibrations, but as soon as you change over to an aftermarket front driveshaft, you'll be seeing 1-2° caster angles to run a correct pinion angle to keep that driveshaft alive and happy. This makes the rig drive like crap [to many].

To counter-act that, people have been doing cut and turns since the beginning of time, for various reasons. It's not all that common in the JK community, for whatever reason, likely because it's a bit intimidating and requires something to not just to be bolted on.