TPS Issue - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 08-24-2012, 10:33 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Feedback: 0 reviews
TPS Issue

So I took our 2012 wrangler unlimited into the dealer this morning for the dreaded passenger door leak. After they had repaired I got a call from the dealer letting me know it was finished and asking about the TPS light being on. Long story short I explained that I had changed the 16" sport wheels out for the set of Rubicon wheels and tires that are on it now and the light had been on every since the change. The dealer explained that because I did not change out the TPS sensors the light would stay on until I had them break down my Rubicon set and get the serial numbers off the current sensors and have them programmed for our jeep. The guy also added that they were the only place around to take care of this issue and then said that this additional work would cost $130. Now I am fine with having them do this if this is correct and the only way around it, but having run in's with dealerships before I thought I would double check with the jeep community to verfiy. I would much rather spend this money on a AEV Procal if it would do the job as well. Can someone with experience shoot me some straight answers on the issue?
dwilson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-24-2012, 12:18 PM
Granite Guru
 
BullyWagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 270
Feedback: 0 reviews

'12 have different sensors than the 07-11 Sounds like they are screwing you. As long as you have the correct sensor with the right frequency your jeep will learn the new sensors.

I too have rubi take offs on my 2012 sport... Mine are 2011s so I get the light on the dash.

Sounds like the dealer is just going to put some new sensors on.
BullyWagon is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-24-2012, 04:57 PM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 32
Posts: 1,060
Feedback: 4 reviews

Go to a tire store and pay to have them swapped. There is NO relearn needed.

You 12 wheels should have a soft valve stem, correct?

You will need to buy new soft stems at the tire shop 3-5 bucks each. Then have your 12 sensors mounted to the wheels your running
beedle4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 08-24-2012, 09:01 PM
Rock God
 
bfj aka tambil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Age: 50
Posts: 1,185
Feedback: 1 reviews
Send a message via MSN to bfj aka tambil

Did your "new" rubi wheels have sensors? Are they from the same year as yours?

Proud to be an American
Shamed of our government

Native Floridian = MUD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfj aka tambil is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-26-2012, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Feedback: 0 reviews

Yeah, the Rubicon wheels and tires are from a 2012 as well. All I did was took my 2012 stocks off and put on the Rubicon package. The dealer is telling me that when you change out a sensor you have to reprogram the computer with the new serial number of the sensor or the tps light will never go off on the dash.
dwilson is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-26-2012, 03:35 PM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lakewood Colorado
Age: 40
Posts: 272
Feedback: 0 reviews

I was under the impression the 2012 will learn the new sensors after a short (few miles) of driving. Take it on a highway or weekend drive and the problem should work out on its own.

Assuming the new wheels have sensors installed on them lol.
jchurch is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-26-2012, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Feedback: 0 reviews

Yeah, they were directly swapped off of a Rubicon with only 250 miles on it. They have been on our jeep for over 4 months. Anyone know if the pro cal could disable the TPS all together?
dwilson is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-26-2012, 05:38 PM
Rock God
 
bfj aka tambil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Age: 50
Posts: 1,185
Feedback: 1 reviews
Send a message via MSN to bfj aka tambil

I have a 2008 and turned off my tps with the AEV Pro-Cal

Proud to be an American
Shamed of our government

Native Floridian = MUD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfj aka tambil is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-27-2012, 09:30 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 32
Posts: 1,060
Feedback: 4 reviews

If they are both 12, they should have the same sensors.

The only re-learn is driving 20+mph for 10-20 minutes.
beedle4 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-30-2012, 10:09 PM
Rock God
 
Banshee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Blue Mountains, Down Under
Age: 52
Posts: 1,193
Feedback: 0 reviews

Yes the Procal & several other programmers can do it. Just set the pressure threshold to 0 & you should be fine.
Banshee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome