Q: Most inexpensive way to get 37's on a stock 2012 Rubicon 2dr 4.10 Auto JK DD - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old 04-08-2012, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Q: Most inexpensive way to get 37's on a stock 2012 Rubicon 2dr 4.10 Auto JK DD

No stupid questions right?

Looking for inexpensive, not cheap. I don't want anything to fall apart on me, cause other issues or decrease performance.

So far the most informative and enjoyable information I've found was planman's write up on 37's... but I'm a noob here, with a specific question after pouring over dozens of similar threads on multiple forums.

I'm buying a 2012 Rubicon 2dr 4.10 Auto and adding a front bumper mounted winch. I want to stay as stock/inexpensive as possible. I know it's a capable vehicle out ofthe box, but I want to have 37" tires +1 mounted spare. This is going to be my DD with mixed hwy/road use. I will be going on Florida and Georgia trails twice monthly, not much rock crawling. But I don't want to lose any ability to rock crawl. One of the main reasons for wanting a Jeep is to make it easier to get to relief work post hurricane/disaster. That will be a rare event, but still, I want something that works but also affordable on a public servant's salary.

I'm planning on making cuts to the stock rocker guard, front bumper and flares.

I'm thinking a Custom Hummer Wheel and Tire combo from Trail Worthy Fab, I like the quality and price. I wish there was some way to mount these without lifting...

I wish I didn't have to lift for this to work, just because I don't want any warranty issues, but 37's will probably be all it takes to void part of the warranty anyhow.. I was looking at Rough Country, but some say that using Rubicon Express may give you a bit less trouble warranty wise.