Tire rubbing issue - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 10-29-2018, 07:21 PM Thread Starter

Tire rubbing issue

Hey there! I'm brand new here, and I'm also new to JK ownership, so I could definitely use some of the knowledge on this forum. I did own a 93 Cherokee back in the day and my dad had an old Wrangler, which ignited my love of Jeeps. Right now I have a 2018 JK Sport S. It came with 366/75r17s. I've been off-roading a lot, and the stock tires just weren't giving me enough traction, especially when the road got a bit muddy. So, I decided I wanted a good all-terrain tire that wasn't going to be complete misery on the highway, and went with BFG KO2s. I've really like them so far, but it turns out they put tires on that are slightly too wide (275/70R17) and rub when I'm in a max turn. So, they're going to swap them out for different ones. I'm wondering if 265/70R17s will be good or if they will cause similar problems. What do y'all think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 11-17-2018, 05:52 AM

Get wheel spacers and put on 285/70r17’s.
post #3 of 5 Old 11-17-2018, 08:52 AM
Rock God

yea keep the bigger tires and just put a couple of washers on your steering stops or like mentioned above get some 1.5" spidertrax wheel spacers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 Old 05-16-2019, 07:05 PM

Most likely, you're hitting the sway bar. I had that happen when I went to 295-70-17 on stock wheels. I ended up getting some 1.5" spacers found on craigslist cheap. Fixed that. I have a 2.25" front/1" rear lift and have trimmed the middle of the lip of the front fenders for offroad sway disconnected articulation without ripping the fenders off.
post #5 of 5 Old 05-17-2019, 03:19 AM
Super Moderator

Garage