TPMS After not having it for 3 years? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 01-15-2017, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
keeponjeepinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Akron, OH
Age: 26
Posts: 108
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
TPMS After not having it for 3 years?

Long story short, 3 years ago when I bought my wheels and tires mounted and balanced online, I cheaped out and didn't pay the extra coin for new sensors. All was fine since I'm a grown ass man and have a tire gauge, can remember to check them, and my Bullydog disabled the system. Now that my 35s are getting worn down and starting to chunk on one that got beat up at the Gulches, it's time to get 37s once I get up to Ohio. I'd like to re-enable the system just so it cuts down on some of the general maintenance that I have to do. (I DD my supermoto now, oil changes every 2k FTW) Looking on Rockauto, some say they need a programmer to relearn and some say they can be cloned, but I'm not sure if they'll work since I don't have any to be cloned, I'm not even sure if OEMs will work since it's been off for so long. I'm probably going to dismount and mount the tires myself and install the sensors, then take it to get balanced to keep the cost down

2013 Commando Green JK - Sold
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2014 Suzuki DR-Z400SM - 2001 Honda XR100R StockMoto Race Bike
Ohio Mini Roadracing League #201 - University of Akron Formula SAE - Zips Racing
keeponjeepinon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-15-2017, 08:40 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio
Age: 36
Posts: 90
Feedback: 0 reviews

So is there a question you have?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
MARSHALLLANE is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-15-2017, 10:37 PM
Granite Guru
 
boopiejones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 383
Feedback: 1 reviews

If you're asking how to get the TPMS working again, all you should need to do is install TPMS sensors in the new wheels and use the bullydog to program TPMS monitoring back into the jeep. if the bully dog can disable tmps, it should have no problem re-enabling it as well.
boopiejones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 01-16-2017, 12:34 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
Discount Tire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,112
Feedback: 0 reviews

In addition to what, boopiejones said... after you enable the system all you would have to do is install compatible sensors. You do not have to clone the O.E. sensors or even reprogram/reset the TPMS system due to the new sensors. All JK's utilize an auto re-learn system that finds the new sensor ID's while the vehicle is under operation. Hope this helps. If we can be of further assistance in anyway please let us know.

Here's some TPMS FAQs if anyone is interested:

Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) | Discount Tire Direct

Low Prices! More Choices! Trusted Experts!
At The Store:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To Your Door:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Useful Links:

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Discount Tire is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-16-2017, 12:43 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
keeponjeepinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Akron, OH
Age: 26
Posts: 108
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Ok yeah, I think rockauto's descriptions are just a little confusing. I know I can re-enable it, was just worried of it not sensing the sensors

2013 Commando Green JK - Sold
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2014 Suzuki DR-Z400SM - 2001 Honda XR100R StockMoto Race Bike
Ohio Mini Roadracing League #201 - University of Akron Formula SAE - Zips Racing
keeponjeepinon is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-23-2017, 06:49 AM
Rock God
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 897
Feedback: 0 reviews

I just want to know why you change your oil every 2k miles
christensent is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-24-2017, 06:08 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
keeponjeepinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Akron, OH
Age: 26
Posts: 108
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by christensent View Post
I just want to know why you change your oil every 2k miles
I do that with the supermoto, not the Jeep lol. Mine's not as bad as others, since it is a dual sport underneath the sumo upgrades. The guys that ride converted race bikes change it every 750-1000mi (10-15hrs)
keeponjeepinon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome