noob question about 33x12.5x15 load capacity - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 03-03-2015, 04:12 AM Thread Starter

noob question about 33x12.5x15 load capacity

hello,

i'm a newbie to the forum.
im in a 2011 unlimited sport with 17" oe wheels. wanted to go with a wider more aggresive tread.
after reading about 200 posts on the forum, i had decided to go with the 33"x12.5"x15 duratrac tire and wheel package from discount tire (i was thinking 15x8 mbtko 5x5) when i contacted the sales rep through the forum he told me that the stock tire carries a load capacity on 2,458 lbs and the 33" duratrac on 15" falls short at 2,205 lbs. i was told i could either move up to a 35" tire on 15" rim (requiring lift) or i would have to go with a 16" rim.
ive seen dozens of posts from unlimited sport owners runing the 33"x12.5" duratrac package. is there something im missing?
any information would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-03-2015, 05:27 AM
WINNAR!

Garage

Look at the door card to check the total weight of your vehicle. You need tires that support that weight. Years ago Jeep put load range E tires on TJ's. Just because Jeep did it doesn't mean it has to be that way.

Unfortunately, all the big tire chains are going to suggest OE applications. Never looked myself but I'd be interested in what your Jeep weighs.

Andy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 9 Old 03-03-2015, 06:28 AM
Rock God

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOOKEY View Post
Look at the door card to check the total weight of your vehicle. You need tires that support that weight. Years ago Jeep put load range E tires on TJ's. Just because Jeep did it doesn't mean it has to be that way.

Unfortunately, all the big tire chains are going to suggest OE applications. Never looked myself but I'd be interested in what your Jeep weighs.